Where everybody matters

Wiltshire Council

COUNCIL

DRAFT MINUTES OF THE EXTRAORDINARY COUNCIL MEETING HELD ON 26 FEBRUARY 2013 AT THE LANSDOWN HALL - CIVIC CENTRE, ST STEPHENS PLACE, TROWBRIDGE. BA14 8AH.

Present:

Cllr Richard Beattie, Cllr Chuck Berry, Cllr John Brady, Cllr Richard Britton, Cllr Rosemary Brown, Cllr Liz Bryant, Cllr Allison Bucknell, Cllr Trevor Carbin, Cllr Nigel Carter, Cllr Chris Caswill, Cllr Richard Clewer, Cllr Christopher Cochrane, Cllr Peter Colmer, Cllr Linda Conley, Cllr Christine Crisp (Chairman), Cllr Andrew Davis, Cllr Tony Deane, Cllr Peter Doyle, Cllr Peter Fuller, Cllr Richard Gamble, Cllr Jose Green, Cllr Howard Greenman, Cllr Mollie Groom, Cllr Lionel Grundy OBE, Cllr Brigadier Robert Hall, Cllr Mike Hewitt, Cllr Malcolm Hewson, Cllr Alan Hill, Cllr Charles Howard, Cllr Jon Hubbard, Cllr Keith Humphries, Cllr Peter Hutton, Cllr David Jenkins, Cllr Julian Johnson, Cllr John Knight, Cllr Jerry Kunkler, Cllr Jacqui Lay, Cllr Alan MacRae, Cllr Howard Marshall, Cllr John Noeken, Cllr Mark Packard, Cllr Sheila Parker, Cllr Fleur de Rhé-Philipe, Cllr Bill Roberts, Cllr Jane Scott OBE, Cllr Jonathon Seed, Cllr John Smale, Cllr Carole Soden, Cllr Toby Sturgis, Cllr John Thomson, Cllr Dick Tonge, Cllr Anthony Trotman, Cllr Bridget Wayman, Cllr Ian West, Cllr Stuart Wheeler and Cllr Christopher Williams

19 Apologies

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Desna Allen, Jane Burton, Ernie Clark, Mark Connolly, Michael Cuthbert Murray, Brian Dalton, Peter Davis, Christopher Devine, Bill Douglas, Mary Douglas, Peggy Dow, Rod Eaton, Nick Fogg, Mark Griffiths, Russell Hawker, Chris Humphries, Tom James, George Jeans, Simon Killane, Laura Mayes, Ian McLennan, Jeff Ody, Stephen Oldrieve, Helen Osborn, Jeff Osborn, Graham Payne, Stephen Petty, Nina Phillips, Leo Randall, Pip Ridout, Ricky Rogers, Judy Rooke, Paul Sample, Julie Swabey, Fred Westmoreland and Graham Wright.

20 **Declarations of Interest**

There were no declarations of interest.

21 **Public Participation**

No requests for public participation had been received.

22 Electoral Arrangements - Royal Wootton Bassett

Cllr John Noeken, Cabinet member for Resources presented a report which updated members of the progress with its previously approved order to rectify errors in the 2009 electoral review and to seek approval to amend the provisions of the Statutory Instrument 2009 No 531 The County of Wiltshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2009.

It was noted that there was one final outstanding area which related to the names of electoral areas within the parish of (Royal) Wootton Bassett. The Local Government Boundary Committee for England had already granted consent for the Council to change the electoral division names of Wootton Bassett North, Wootton Bassett South and Wootton Bassett East to Royal Wootton Bassett North, Royal Wootton Bassett South and Royal Wootton Bassett East. The Special Council meeting was now able to resolve, by a majority of at least two thirds of the members voting on it, to change the names as provided for in Section 59 of the 2007 Act.

Resolved:

That the provisions of the Statutory Instrument 2009 No. 531 The County of Wiltshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2009 be amended as follows:

- a) The names of the Unitary Divisions of Wootton Bassett North, Wootton Bassett South and Wootton Bassett East and the town wards of Wootton Bassett North, Wootton Bassett South and Wootton Bassett East be amended by the inclusion of the prefix "Royal" in their titles with no alteration to the areas shown on the 2009 Order maps.
- b) The effective date for the commencement of the Order be set to provide for the effective conduct of the 2013 parish and town council elections in May 2013.

(Duration of meeting: 4.15pm – 4.25pm)

The Officer who has produced these minutes is Yamina Rhouati, of Democratic & Members' Services, direct line 01225 718024, e-mail Yamina.Rhouati@wiltshire.gov.uk

Press enquiries to Communications, direct line (01225) 713114/713115